Travel info for Alexandroupolis

Welcome to Alexandroupolis!

-   The Lighthouse: The Lighthouse is a symbol-landmark for the city of Alexandroupolis and it’s located in the center of its coastal front. It was built in 1880, together with the port and the train station, just when this city was still a humble village. It’s 27 meters high, it has 6 levels and since 1973 it operates with electricity, preserving at the same time its acetylene mechanism alert.
Zarifeios Pedagogic Academy: It’s on the western part of Independence Square and it’s an elegant neoclassical building, which was established in the beginning of the 20th century and donated by the Greek merchant dealer of Konstantinoupolis, Georgios Zarifis, the bust of whom is located in the courtyard. Today it hosts the Pedagogic School of the Democritus University of Thrace.
Metropolis Square: Three very important buildings compose the lovely view of Metropolis Square. Agios Nikolaos (1900-1908), the most significant church of the city with the marble temple, the Leontaridios Urban Boys School (1909 – which used to be a high school, but nowadays it’s a remarkable ecclesiastical museum) and the old Elementary School, with the marble busts of prominent teachers and bishops.
 - The Ethnological Museum of Thrace: The Museum is hosted in a beautiful neoclassical building of 1899 and operates since 2002 (on 63, 14th May Street). It boasts more than 500 artifacts from the traditional Thracian life, between the 17th and the 20th century. The purpose of the museum is to study and promote the civilization of Thrace.
- The Natural History Museum of Alexandroupolis: Located in the evergreen location of Platanotopos of the suburban settlement of Maistros, on the eastern part of Alexandroupolis, this modern museum features six large rooms that display the wealth of the protected ecosystems of Eastern Macedonia and Thrace, with an emphasis on the River Evros’ Delta. 
Loutros – Dadia Forest – Dadia Monastery
This is a lovely route that starts few kilometers off Alexandroupolis, from the location of Loutra Traianoupolis. After Loutro, there are no villages for tens of kilometers and the landscape becomes increasingly interesting. You will have the chance to see the beautiful forest of Dadia, one of the most important habitats in Greece, which hosts four rare species of the European vulture, more than 200 bird species and 40 amphibian and reptile species. After this protected area, the road goes through the Monastery of Dadia and stumbles across the central Alexandroupolis–Soufli highway. The length of the route is about 51 kilometers.
Other routes
Starting from Alexandroupolis, there are many routes which will unveil the beautiful nature of the Thracian land, in the amazing, peaceful, evergreen landscape of the prefecture of Evros and not only. With the help of a map (recommended), we suggest the following routes:
Alexandroupolis – River Evros’ Delta (15 km route through the plains towards the most important European wetland)
Alexandroupolis – Avantas - Leptokarya (31 km semi-mountainous route through hills)
Alexandroupolis – Makri – Mesimvria – Maroneia (34 km coastal route with great archeological interest)
Alexandroupolis – Kirki – Sikorrachi (33 km route through evergreen hills)
Additionally, you can take longer routes and visit the multicultural cities of Komotini and Xanthi, Lake Vistonida, Didimoteicho by the borders, Pomakohoria of Evros, the beautiful Feres, Soufli with the museum of silk or to discover the forgotten villages of the richly vegetated Western Rodopi.
     Alexandroupolis has one of the most well structured urban planning in Greece, with large roads and virtually no parking or traffic problems.
     The driving routes throughout the prefecture are comfortable, easy and highly enjoyable, because there is no traffic and the landscape is relatively flat.
     Don’t forget that since you are in a sparsely inhabited area near the borders you need to have a full tank before departing for a long road trip. 

Visit our car rental locations: Athens, Crete (Heraklion, Chania, Chersonissos, Agios Nikolaos, Rethymno), Rhodes, Corfu, Thessaloniki, Kavala, Chalkidiki, Chios, Ioannina, Kalamata, Karpathos, Kefalonia, Kos, Larissa, Lesvos, Mykonos, Naxos, Paros, Patras, Samos, Santorini, Skiathos, Thasos, Volos and Zakynthos.